Nākd Bars

I am a self-confessed addict of Nakd bars and will happily fork out 75p for one when the craving arises. After about a year of eating them I have finally realised how damn easy they are to make yourself. All you need is a food processor. I found this recipe on Rosanna’s Kitchen and am more than satisfied with the result!

IMG_7381

  • 220g dates (you can use any, I think Medjool are supposed to be best, but I used dried)
  • 100g pecan nuts
  • 100g whole almonds
  • 1 tbsp ground ginger
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon

I soaked the dates in some hot water to soften them first, for around 10 minutes. Drain them and combine with the other ingredients in the food processor. Once it has formed one ball, push into a tin (I used 20×20 square) lined with cling film. Refrigerate for 30 minutes then cut into 16 bars. Wrap each individually with cling film or just put into a container and keep in the fridge or freezer.

If you make 16, they come out at only 130 calories each, and are a great healthy alternative snack. You can, of course, use any nuts or dried fruit you like, as well as any flavourings. My favourite Nākd bar is rhubarb and custard, but I’m not quite sure how I’ll be able to recreate that flavour myself.

One comment

Leave a Reply

