HIX Soho

I think I first heard about the HIX restaurants from a Munchies Vice film which featured the chefs, and it seemed like an interesting place to go for a pre-Valentines day dinner. Looking at the menus before, the cocktails particularly caught my eye and I was excited to sample one.

IMG_6096

IMG_6112

The place is pretty fancy when you go in, with Damien Hirst “artwork” hanging down from the ceiling (I’m not much of a fan). We waited for our table to be ready at the bar, and sampled a cocktail. The bartender was an interesting character, and showed some other customers a slab of raw beef which, despite being a vegetarian, excited me for the meal to come. I don’t actually remember the drinks we ordered, but they were delicious, especially the piece of candied blood orange which came on top of mine.

IMG_6097

Once seated, we ordered the pork crackling and a carafe of the house red wine. The cracking was apparently good, and I enjoyed the bramley apple sauce that came with it. I then ordered the cod cheek curry and he got steak tartare, and kale to share. The curry was delicious, and came in a stove apparatus with basmati rice on the side. The steak tartare came with fries as well. The kale was amazing and drenched in butter.

IMG_6109

IMG_6108

Overall the experience was fun, and not bad value for money in my opinion. Our waitress was very nice and service was professional. A great place for that special meal out!

Click to add a blog post for HIX on Zomato

Leave a Reply

